The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane b7: Lisa See

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird LaneThe Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I gave birth to a daughter and lost her. I married the man I loved and lost him-in so many ways. I may be separated from my family, my village, and my mountain, but in my heart I’m connected to them more than ever. The suffering has brought clarity to my life.

Li-yan and her family live in the mountains of China growing and cultivating tea. Her mother is a midwife of their mountain community with many superstitions. It is the superstitions of twins, that Li-yan yearns for something more. She goes to school with a bright future and dreams, but the love she has for a village boy changes her life. They have a daughter out of wedlock but tradition and superstitions say the baby must die. With the help of her mother, she wants something more for daughter. The birth of daughter she knows anguish of giving up her daughter, courage to take her infant daughter to the city to an orphanage and sacrifice as she gives up daughter and her family so that her daughter may live.

This book captivated me from the beginning, with the stolen pancake to the search of Li-Yan’s daughter, I realized how small my world really is. Much research went into this novel and with facts of the people Akha and the imagination of a author who writes beautifully, your world will become bigger and better.

I loved this one quote as a friend of Li-Yans has all daughters and in naming her daughters she shows her disappointment: Mah-caw (Go find a brother)Mah-law (go fetch a brother) and Mah-zeu (go buy a brother). The culture is interesting and the struggle of Li-Yan to overcome for something better. She was a fighter and loved well. I highly recommend.

A Special Thank You to Scriber and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

