The Captive Heart by: Michelle Griep

The Captive HeartThe Captive Heart by Michelle Griep
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to my ancestors, my heart is captive to both Cherokee and whites. I thought to live here in peace, to have a real home. But I don’t think that’s a possibility anymore.

Such a great historical fiction with a heavy on the romance that is clean but with all the tension that keeps you turning the pages in anticipation. I think this is the first for me on this author and I will definitely be looking for more from her if her other books are anything like this. I am not big on romance but if it deep in depth of historical and heart lessons, I am easily pulled in.

English governess Eleanor Morgan is on a journey or more or less running away from England from her father and her failures to the new colonies. Due to unseen circumstances, when she arrives, she is unable to pay her debt and has no where to go. Samuel Heath meets her need with a need of his own. A mother for his child and with that they come to a uncomfortable agreement. It is this tension that brings to the surface pain that they must each deal with. There is an attraction, a distaste and then as they come to some sort of trust, a respect. They come to see each other differently but with savages of the wild, will they be able to survive.

A Special Thank You to Shiloh Run Press and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

