Univited by: Lysa TerKeurst

UninvitedUninvited by Lysa TerKeurst
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been hurt by rejection and started believing lies about my God and who I am in Him-I deny myself the protection of His truth. And my search for love and acceptance outside of God’s presence then leads to dangerous places.

Rating 3.5

TerKeurst is a wonderful writer who expresses herself with vulnerability and rawness. The pain of rejection can spill out in our lives in many different ways and the damage it does can leave us spiritual immature and lacking. Does this only apply to select few? No I think all of us has experienced rejection of some kind. The way I approach it is, when I choose one, that means I reject another. When someone chooses another, they reject me. That is what I love about marriage. Because marriage addresses that. But that is a different book.

Terkeurst takes us on a journey on how we can address the rejection that we have experienced and experience God’s presence. What does rejection do…it steals the security of what we thought was beautiful and stable and leaves us scared and fragile. So rejection can be a big deal to some of us. However, that being said and in my own experience I have found that I become self-absorbed. Which is not of the gospel. My rejection can turn something painful to something beautiful when I pursue the gospel. This is my fear in reading books like this. Does this read have the potential of making us self-absorbed that we become self-centered and not God-centered or gospel centered? What I found is Terkeurst passion is to put us at the feet of the Jesus but I am not sure about the cross.

As I was reading, I was also underlining. She speaks to a broken heart but I also was wary, does she speak to my own wickedness. Does she speak of Christ Lordship? There is a friendship to her writing that is winsome and that I found myself drawn to and I am sure many others have been drawn in the same way. Unlike some other writers that I have experienced reading, she is not about the popularity but being real. I so appreciate it. I would not call her teacher but I would call her a friend. She does not put lightly the pain and anguish of those that have suffered and I believe God does not either but we have the greatest invitation in Christ. We all are invited and we all have a ticket that is paid. I recommend this book with caution but I whole heartily recommend the need to address our pain in a biblical way and I appreciate the author’s own heart in doing so.

A Special Thank You to Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

