Guarded by Christ: Knowing the God Who Rescues and Keeps us by: Heather Holleman

Guarded by Christ: Knowing the God Who Rescues and Keeps UsGuarded by Christ: Knowing the God Who Rescues and Keeps Us by Heather Holleman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I want the me that is You. When we gaze upon Him, the one who rescues and keeps us. We build up the fortress each new morning and worship this God who guards our souls.

To live a Christian life guarded by Christ is remembering the God who rescues and keeps us in his care. Heather Holleman uses imagery of a fortress, a catapult, a calm lake, a window of hope, and a dungeon to lead her readers to rest in the work of Christ. A fortress is a refuge that we can run to with our failures, our needs, and concerns. It is where we derive a great confidence in the love and care of God.

We are guarded in so many ways by the hand of God. His unlimited power that is available to every believer by the holy spirit. Living by the spirit and not of the flesh we can live in righteousness, peace, hope and power and escape from self-obsession, self-absorption, and self-exalting.

A great insight to the I AM of God….Here is a beautiful explanation of why God names Himself I AM. (Exodus 3:14) It’s because the name invites our completion. I have sinned. I AM your Righteousness. In my chaos and anxiety – I AM your Peace. In my weakness. I AM your Strength.

Some of the quotes I found encouraging.

Satan’s primary aim is to promote self interest as the chief end of man.

Until we deny ourselves that which was never meant to be ours, the role of being God in our lives we will never be at peace with ourselves or God, and we will never be free. Living a crucified life transforms us into what we were always designed to be: at peace with God and ourselves and truly free.

Because of this crucified life, I move from self-absorbed to savior-focused. I move from self-promoting to self-abandoned. I gaze at the snapshot and remember my life is not my own. I have been brought at a price of this shed blood.

If you love imagery and the promises of God, you will be greatly encouraged by this study in how God guards our souls to be redeemed and made new.

A Special Thank You to Moody Publishers and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

