I am Found: Quitting the Game of Hide and Seek with God and Others by: Laura Dingman

I Am Found: Quitting the Game of Hide and Seek with God and OthersI Am Found: Quitting the Game of Hide and Seek with God and Others by Laura Dingman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When we choose to protect ourselves, seeing vulnerability only as a weakness, we rob ourselves of the connection we need.

The above statement puts me out there. I run the vicious cycle of protecting myself, my heart, my reputation, my weakness. The word “my” says much…It is in this protecting that I lose. This is a study that I probably will need to refer again and again. Because instead of my…I want my words to be “see Jesus”. You may think you don’t deal with hiding but I think we all do to some extend. It is more about what we are hiding behind. Maybe it’s success, maybe it’s hobby, maybe it’s an addiction. We are good at hiding and Jesus is good at finding.

This six week study is short and repetitive. The following six weeks are as follows:

Why do we hide?
How can we win the war on shame?
Why do we really hide.
Choosing Spiritual Friendships
Jesus is enough.

The study starts with something profound and spoke to my heart and that is the hiding we do is not about the hiding but about being found and known. She shares the example of her young daughter loving the game of hiding and seek or peek a boo and how she responds to being found. It begs the question to how we respond to being found.

Each week starts with a scripture that you refer back to thru the whole week. What I found encouraging with this study is the practice of reading the word out loud. Hearing the word is different than reading the word. We need both in equal parts. You are also encouraged to linger and listen to the word and then lead to the truth of the word. The lies we listen to and the action to take to deflect the lies. The word is a two edged sword.

The last chapter was on the familiar parable of the Prodigal son. The study dealt more with the older brother and what struck me in a new way was how the eldest son spoke the words to his father…Your son..basically how can you welcome your no good son who wished you dead so he can have all of his inheritance and the father replied back..YOUR brother. The father was reminding his eldest son that your brother belongs to you. His care. His good. It was humbling rebuke to humility.

Your life may change drastically after reading this or it may make you reflect the heart of God. Real love is pursuit. We need to be reminded of that. I need to be reminded of that. We all need to be found.

A Special Thank you to Moody Publishing and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

