Life Lessons from A Bad Quaker: A Humble Stumble Toward Simplicity and Grace by: J. Brent Bill

Life Lessons from a Bad Quaker: A Humble Stumble Toward Simplicity and GraceLife Lessons from a Bad Quaker: A Humble Stumble Toward Simplicity and Grace by J. Brent Bill
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Yikes, I really wanted to like this one. The title was compelling and I am amazed by those that live in simplicity and grace. I would agree with the author that living in simplicity brings peace that our hearts grave.

I am not sure since I received an ARC or if it was intentional but in referring to the God, it was always god. Now there were a few times it wasn’t but I am under the impression that it was. If it was, it brings up a red flag to the reason why that was done.

The book was written in question format to cause the reader to think and to receive which I embrace but I found that answering the questions, it became about what I can do… Can I listen, Are my words, If I, What I believe,… …I start on the treadmill of despair when I much rather be humbled about who God is. It becomes another book about me centered …. What can I do, What I need to do, etc. instead of God centered. By God centered, I mean the cross and the plan of redemption to make all things new including me. The gratitude I have is because of what Jesus did. I want more of that gratitude that transforms.

In fairness, this is a conversation of Bill’s experience and shortcoming. It is meant to be light and he has a desire to connect to his readers. I just did not.

Some of the quotes I found encouraging.

Peace is a process to engage in, not a goal to be reached. The task will never be done indeed.

Peacemaking is action – love in action.

We believe a simple life makes peace more possible.

A Special Thank you to Abingdon Press and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

