Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer by: Priscilla Shirer

Fervent: A Woman's Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic PrayerFervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer by Priscilla Shirer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rating 3.5 stars

Praying fervently is gearing up to do battle. Prayer works as an offense and a defense. Prayer releases all your external resources.

Before I go into what I like about this book, I want to express my concerns. Shirer is passionate about prayer and how as Christians we can underestimate what Satan can do. I do not dispute that, however, it can be too easy to say The devil made me do it. I don’t think that is what she is saying because her book is all about strategy It can be easy for us to lose sight on the purpose of prayer when we talk about strategy. Is what she saying something to look at. Yes! It is an expose of how we can lose our will to pray. It is emphasis on Satan’s strategy (all ten of them is at the start of each chapter and what the enemy will do to keep you away from prayer) however, I prefer and I think it is needed that we do not underestimate what GOD can do and who HE is. This study is more pragmatic and the problem I have with pragmatic is if I don’t follow along, I am sunk or if I do follow along but God does not deliver, then what happens to my faith. These are things we must think about as we read books that help with our prayer life or anything else with the Christian life. Pragmatism always leads us to doing while God is saying KNOW ME. Come to the desert to know me and worship me. Ultimately that is what prayer offers us. To know HIM as we pray his word and to worship Him as we know his peace.

What this book did do for me is it helped me get to the root of my lack of prayer. Many times we know our walk is not right and a book like this can help us identify our sin. Each 10 chapters close with a handful scripture to fight and to replace what we are thinking. It reminds us of the truth.

My concerns aside, I appreciate being reminded what hinders me from knowing how great our God is.

A Special Thank You to B&H Publishing and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer by: Priscilla Shirer

Leave a Reply

