Citizenship? What is it Good For?

 

 

Where do you feel at home?    The bigger question is what makes a home a home?  Is it acceptance?  Acceptance to be who you are.  Home can be complicated.  The complications come from our desires and authority.  What makes our home is what shapes us with our desires and how we view authority.    When we accept God’s authority in our lives, do we understand the citizenship of heaven.  Citizenship reflects where we belong and who we belong to.

In the Book of Philippians, Paul renounced his citizenship to Rome and to his past to know Jesus.    Taking the citizenship of God’s Kingdom is giving authority to who God is and living in submission to my brokenness.   With the citizenship of God, there is benefits, responsibilities and allegiances.   I have protection from God that is eternal .   I live for the applause of one not many.  I belong to a family of God that helps me to follow Jesus, to complete my citizenship in service to others.  My happiness does not come from consumerism, but in the pursuit of growing the Kingdom.

Philippians 3:17-4:1English Standard Version (ESV)

17 Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us. 18 For many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, walk as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.

Therefore, my brothers,[a] whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved.

.

 

Leave a Reply

