My Name is Mahtob by:Mahtob Mahmoody

My Name Is Mahtob: The Story that Began the Global Phenomenon Not Without My Daughter ContinuesMy Name Is Mahtob: The Story that Began the Global Phenomenon Not Without My Daughter Continues by Mahtob Mahmoody
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

You can escape but are you ever free

The story of Mahtob and her mother’s escape from her abusive father in Iran is gripping, sad and horrific. Told from Mahtob perspective as she grew up loving her father until her father changed and moved his family back to Iran. Once in Iran he abused and held his wife captive until they escaped. Mahtob sense of who she is quite remarkable and impressive. Her mother had bestowed on her daughter a very strong identity of her heritage and her independence.

I do have to say that after awhile, the story left me exhausted and I think due to Mahtob’s relationship with her father that has never been resolved. A validation on both parties (Mahtob and her father) over took Mahtob’s testimony. The exhausting part is there is no true freedom in Mahtob’s testimony.

A Special Thank You to Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

