Julia’s Daughters by: Colleen Faulkner

Julia's DaughtersJulia’s Daughters by Colleen Faulkner
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For the beloved, insolent child of my body, of my heart. Because at this moment, I realize that no matter what she’s done, she’s still my child of my body and my heart. Worth no less than the child I lost…I’m going to pick up the pieces. I’m going to gather the broken shards of who I was and put them back together. I know I won’t be the same person I was before but I can be someone again.

I was totally captivated with Julia and her daughters and their journey of unspeakable pain. The loss of a daughter in the hands of another daughter is what a family’s nightmare is made of. How do you process the pain? The guilt? The emptiness? The narration is done so well that you are literally a fly on the wall as you process their pain with them. Julia who loves being a mother now is at loss of how to process her own pain and help her other two daughter’s process theirs. Along with a marriage that has been on disconnect before the accident, how Julia and her husband Ben can come together instead of being in isolation.

Pain begets pain is how Haley the oldest daughter struggles with the death of her sister Caitlin. Being the driver of the car that kills her sister, she is wracked with guilt as Caitlin is the perfect sister, perfect daughter and she is anything but.

Izzy the youngest daughter misses Caitlin and holds Haley responsible. She now names her sister “The One who is not named” and refuses to acknowledge her in any way.

When the pain becomes more than emotional and leads to something physical, Julia is determined to face the pain head on with her daughters and come out the other side that will bring joy to Caitlin’s memory instead of pain and isolation. Told with humor, compassion and heart wrenching truth, you learn how pain can be faced and redeemed.

A Special Thank You to Kensington and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

