The Comeback: It’s Not Too Late and You’re Never to Far by: Louie Giglio

The Comeback: It's Not Too Late and You're Never Too FarThe Comeback: It’s Not Too Late and You’re Never Too Far by Louie Giglio

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

God remembers and our response is praise

I am a little conflicted with this one. I am familiar with Louie Giglio. I have listened to him in different venues and you can check him out yourself on YouTube. He is a tremendous communicator and has reached thousands of college students. Young people today desire to make a difference in this world. Nothing wrong with that desire, however, in that desire we lose sight of a holy God and our need for salvation and the Lordship of Christ with the saving work of the Cross. The title itself suggests that it is more us centered than God-centered.

Giglio’s heart is for the gospel and for the gospel to be reached. He has a strong faith and has lived out his life in faith. He shares his testimony and those of others, however, in sharing testomony, it is easy to compare and faith becomes fragile when circumstances are not ideal. You can still be waiting for that comeback but when in reality the comeback is Jesus himself. He touches on this briefly but I think a reader needs to be careful about reading into that I am created for God and not that God is created for me. This book is what I call “hype”, it can get you excited about the things of God but just like going to Christian camp and then going out to the real world, we wonder where God is and what he is doing.

The message on grace is encouraging but not costly. Is it more about how strong my will not to give up or worship? Is this a life changing book? For some, it will be but for others it might seem like any other book in a sea of other Christian books. Your answer depends on what you want from God.

For me I struggle with a mundane Faith.   It is in the mundane that my faith grows or fizzles.  It is a study like this  that Christianity is more about splitting the Red Sea than worship.  So instead of a comeback how about a bow down and humble my heart so I can know Him.
A Special Thank You to Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

