Speak Lord: Hearing Psalms in the First Person by: Vic Black

Speak, Lord: Hearing Psalms in the First PersonSpeak, Lord: Hearing Psalms in the First Person by Vic Black
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Lord, what would it sound like if You spoke this psalm to me personally?

Speak Lord takes 19 different chapters of Psalms and redirects you to listen personally to the voice of God. This is not an attempt to re-write scripture which I am always wary about when reading a type of book like this. It keeps with the integrity of the word while opening your heart to God revealing himself to you. It is an encouragement for you to enjoy God and to expose you to how much God enjoys you.

The layout of each chapter starts with a Psalm has it is written in the word. Each chapter has a different bible version and the author encourages you to look at many versions to gleam more insight to the passage. The passage then is re-written in a first person perspective followed by a practice section with writing prompts followed by devotional thoughts for you to consider.

An example of one of my favorite one first person perspective.

I am Jehovah, the One who fights for you, I deliver you, I save you from your vicious enemies. I shine and you can see. I rescue and you are safe. Fear no one. Fear nothing. What would you compare to Me that is worthy of fear? …despite pending battle, put your confidence in Me. I hear your solitary heart cry. You do not lust for many things. You are hungering for Me! And I will satisfy your longing. I will meet your deepest need. I am pleased that you want to move into My House. …I said to you Seek My Face! You heart responded in My presence. Your face, O God I will seek! Even though you have known me tenderly, still you fear My face turning away. You fear My rejection. I will not abandon you. Quite the contrary I am your deliverer! I rescue! I break chains! I open prison doors.

I enjoyed my time with the Lord on this read and I think you will too!

A Special Thank You to Tyndale House Publishers and Netgalley for the ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

