The Jesus Experience: Journey Deeper into the Heart of God by: Bill Myers

The Jesus Experience: Journey Deeper into the Heart of GodThe Jesus Experience: Journey Deeper into the Heart of God by Bill Myers
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Jesus Experience is a walk on how we can experience Jesus in our attitudes, what we say, what we do, and how we live. Bill Myers has a big personality and his personality comes through in each chapter as you journey with him in getting to the heart of a relationship with Jesus. It is a journey of coming to the realization that Jesus is enough. Bill Myers being a well-traveled man, shares much of his own journey of coming to that very realization.

I enjoyed going on this journey and gleamed from the biblical wisdom that Bill Myers has experienced. I was somewhat distracted by Myers personality and is desire to make Jesus more amiable. It is not a meat and potatoes type of study that I enjoy but more of a desert and wine.

Here are some of the quotes that I found most helpful…

If I could love God more than ministry, love His process more than His product, situations would no longer frustrate or discourage me, please would no longer frustrate or discourage me.

God never plays defense. No matter what the enemy throws at me, if I trust God and let Him have free rein, He will take very attack and use it to His glory and my blessing

We all know emotions and intellect can be faulty. My emotions can be manipulated by too many cups of coffee, too many computer crashes, too many minutes dealing with automated operators. My intellect can just as easily be fooled by misinformation, misinterpretation, or my own intellectual pride.

The problem with earning God’s love is it a lose-lose mentality. Not only does Jesus lose, but so do I. The harder I work at doing, the more I wear myself out. My own accomplishments become my source of joy and fulfillment, while my own failures become a source of depression. When I win, I ‘m filled with pride- the same pride that subtly looks down its nose at others who aren’t as impressive to God as I think I am. The same pride that judges others and, when I fail, myself. The same pride of the Pharisees which put Jesus on the cross.

I don’t act in righteousness to earn God’s love. I act in righteousness because of His love. It’s the difference between night and day.

No matter where you are on your walk with the Lord or if you have interest in knowing Jesus more, I think this book will give you taste and you will find that the Lord is good indeed and more than enough!

A Special Thank You to Barbour Publishing and Netgalley for ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

