The Parables of Paul: The Master of Metaphor by: J. Ellsworth Kalas

The Parables of Paul: The Master of the MetaphorThe Parables of Paul: The Master of the Metaphor by J. Ellsworth Kalas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Paul taught in many different metaphors. He used sports, the body, the family, marriage; everyday things to teach the followers of Christ the reign of God’s kingdom. In some ways I think Paul is not appreciated as much as he should be among Christians. The Parables of Paul is an appreciation of the teaching of Paul and an extension of the teaching of Christ. His passion is evident in the scriptures however; this book will bring you deeper into those passions.

One of those passions is Paul’s struggle with sin. The desire to do good is inside of me, but I can’t do it. I don’t do the good that I want to do, but I do the evil that I don’t want to do. But if I do the very thing that I don’t want to do, then I am not the one doing it anymore. Instead, it is sin that lives in me that is doing it. (Romans 7:18-20). This struggle with sin was not a woe is me but an understanding of what sin truly is and how it divides us from God and others. His struggle with sin was not so much as to the level of measurable moral failures or abusive habits. His great shame is that he was not living up to his potential. Spiritually speaking, he was capable of breaking the four minute mile. His passion was for the cross. Do we live in a way that discredits the power of the cross? By doing so we are committing a spiritual blasphemy. To honor the cross meant that one lives in a way that is consistent with the quality of grace and power implied in the suffering and death of our Lord. (page 28).

Paul raises the bar of Christian living only because we have been given a great gift in the Son. It is only by the grace of God and his mercy that we are drawn to that new birth.

A Special Thank You to Abingdon Press and Netgalley for ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

