Water From My Heart by: Charles Martin

Water from My HeartWater from My Heart by Charles Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If so, the water that would cleanse me was not the water from my head-where I’d learned to rationalize my indifference. But the water from my heart .

Charles Martin always and I will say always again writes his novel with the heart in mind. The deep longings of the heart where vulnerability is transparent and the walls we built up to protect ourselves from pain come tumbling down. If you never read a novel from Charles Martin, please do. It is a blessing to see my heart exposed in his characters. Some readers may not appreciate ending wrapped up in pretty packages however; I do not see them this way. I see the sweet picture of redemption. A redemption that brings hope and where there is hope there is life. Water From My Heart story development is based on the 1998 Hurricane Mitch that stalled over Nicaragua and how the people rebuilt their lives after that horrific storm. Mr. Martin had met with and first hand witness the faith of the people and two in particular that are written in this novel. If I may be so bold, I think the main protagonist Charlie is based on himself.

Charlie has lived his life mostly in isolation to ease the pain and indifference was the remedy for rejection. However; one woman taught him that isolation is a prison and indifference is a lie. With looks and intelligence, graduated from an Ivy League school, Charlie was attracted to risk. The high of the risk of making drug shipments, Charlie lead a life that he kept close and others at a distance. Living in reality that Charlie created to protect himself and others from the truth of who he really was came tumbling down when his business partner and friend Collin’s daughter was attacked and his 17 year old son ran away to Nicaragua . Marie was everything pure to Charlie and Zaul was Charlie at 17. In his search for Zaul and being rescued from a debilitating illness, Charlie began to see the light in the poor country of Nicaragua. Will he find Zaul? Will the past catch up with Charlie? Will he able to wipe his life clean with the one he has?

Hope you go all in this one and make sure you have a box of Kleenex.

A Special Thank You to Faithworks/Center Street and Netgalley for ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

