The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

The Invention of WingsThe Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Why would God plant such deep yearnings in us…if they only come to nothing? It was more of sigh than a question. I was thinking of Charlotte and her longing to be free, but as the words left my mouth, I knew I was thinking of myself, too.

A prose of courage and the longing of freedom. Sarah living with privilege as her family owns slaves. Sarah’s heart is for the free and growing up in the Deep South in the early 1800, she sees the wickedness of slavery. Their seamstress Charlotte, makes Sarah promise to on her 9th birthday when her daughter Handful is given to her as her personal slave, to make sure she is one day free. That promise always haunts Sarah.

She was trapped same as me, but she was trapped by her mind, by the minds of the people around her, not by the law.

The prose is told by Sarah and Handful, many ways the same that they are held captive but different prisons. You are on the journey as they both reach their own destiny and calling.

I was cautious, she was brash. I was a thinker she was a doer. I kindled fires, she spread them. And right then and ever after, I saw how cunning the Fates had been. Nina was one wing, I was the other.

With Sarah’s younger sister that she pretty much raised, Nina and her realize their dream to rid slavery while the country scorned them.

Their story will capture you on what true freedom really is.

A Special Thank You to Penguin Books and Netgalley for ARC and the opportunity to post an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

